BJP backed Ram Nath Kovind is the new President of India

Ram Nath Kovind New President of India

Ram Nath Kovind who was the National Democratic Alliance’s backed candidate has won the parliamentary votes to become the 14th president of India.

Counting of the ballot, rounded up from all the states across India, began at 11 am in the Parliament House today.

The former Bihar Governor, Kovind won the election defeating Opposition candidate Meira Kumar, also a former Lok Sabha speaker.

Almost 99% of the MPs and MLAs cast their vote on Monday with total value of the votes of the electoral college stands at 10,98,903.

Bihar CM Nitish Kumar nd BJP’s partner Shiv Sena, along with BJD, Biju Janata Dal and Telengana Rashtra Samithi in Telangana, among others, have also come out in support for Kovind.

Leave a Reply